Medical Examiner

Antrim County Medical Examiner

The Michigan Medical Examiner Statutes, ACT 181, P.A. 1953, as amended and the Michigan Public Health Code, Act 368, P.A. 1978, as amended; mandate that certain types of death be referred to the medical examiner for investigation. Deaths that come under the jurisdiction of the Medical Examiner’s Office include, but are not limited to, sudden and unexpected deaths, accidental deaths, and violent deaths. The medical examiner has the authority under these Acts to order an autopsy at any time it is deemed necessary to determine or confirm the cause and manner of death, or comply with other statutory requirements. ​

In 2021, the Antrim County Board of Commissioners contracted with Mid-Michigan Medical Examiners Group to provide Medical Examiner services for Antrim County. Dr. Paul Wagoner is fulfilling the role of Medical Examiner on behalf of MMMEG.

Mid-Michigan Medical Examiners Group
Dr. Paul Wagner, D.O.
Phone: 231-440-0806

Supplemental Records Request Email:

Information for Families
Release of Remains

The next-of-kin will need to authorize a funeral home to obtain the body after the Medical Examiner completes the examination. Family members should select and promptly contact a funeral home.

Autopsy Reports

A copy of the autopsy report can be requested by sending an email to 

It is important to note, reports are not automatically sent to the family.  They must be requested.  Please allow 60-90 days for completion and distribution of reports.  You may want to review the results with a physician.  If you do not have a physician, the medical examiner can review it with you.  

The complete record regarding the death of your loved one is maintained by the MMMEG. Information in the record includes the investigative report, toxicology and postmortem examination reports. The report describes the findings of the forensic pathologist including disease processes and any injuries found.

A life insurance company may accept a death certificate as proof of death. However, when a postmortem examination is conducted by the medical examiner, the insurance company may request a copy of the report. You may refer the insurance company to the MMMEG if that is the case. Most insurance companies are aware the autopsy report may take up to three months to complete.

Funeral Home Procedures
For more information on funeral home procedures, click here.

$50 permit fee can be paid here.