Veterans Affairs Committee


As established under Michigan Public Act 192, the Antrim County Veteran's Affairs Committee are appointed by the Antrim County Board of Commissioners. Each member of the committee is a resident of the County who has served honorably on active duty in the United States Armed Forces. Working with County officials, the committee appoints the Veterans' Service Officer who is responsible for assisting veterans and their families throughout Antrim County.

The Veterans Affairs Committee meetings monthly on the afternoon of the second Wednesday of each month, unless there is no immediate business. Additional meetings will be scheduled on an as-needed basis. All meetings are governed by PA 267 of 1976 (The Open Meetings Act). This act exempts the Veterans Affairs committee from public meeting only when discussing the merits of emergent need applications in regards to the Veterans Emergency Relief Fund. 

Antrim County Veterans Affairs Committee Members

Joe Renis - Copy Chairperson: Joe Renis, Kewadin Term expires: 12/31/2025
Tim_head shot Vice Chairperson: Tim Cary, Mancelona Term expires: 12/31/2026
Thomas Sampson, Kewadin

Term Expires: 12/31/2025
  Vacant Term expires: 12/31/2025

A vacancy on the Antrim County Veterans Affairs Committee can occur throughout the year. If you are interested in serving on the ACVAC, you are invited to submit a Veterans Affairs Committee Notice of Interest. The Chairperson of the Board of Commissioners will make the appointment with the recommendation of the ACVAC.